E_Smart City_Smart City Methodology_Button 1

E_Smart City_Moderation Smart CIty Process_Button 2

E_Smart City_Technical Expertise_Button 3

E_Smart City_Support for flagship projects_Button 4

E_Smart City_Ideas Workshop_Button 5

E_Smart City_Strategy Consulting_Button x

E_Smart City_Referenzces_Button 7


A Smart City is highly complex, as implementation requires broad acceptance among the authorities and population.

effectas has developed a holistic approach that breaks down cities’ organizational silos, thereby liberating synergies as well as the potential for innovation and improved cooperation between departments.

This allows cities to realize cost savings and make themselves more attractive through innovative services.

Synergy creation is a huge issue for all urban areas. effectas’ methodology guarantees an efficient, focused analysis of synergy potential, based on a city’s services, processes and systems. Innovation potential can be revealed through the targeted involvement of stakeholders in the innovation process. effectas approaches the systematic development of ideas through application of the Edison methodology. This structured process allows you to better understand the needs of your stakeholders. That makes it possible to develop product and service ideas currently unthought of.

To implement innovative, cross-departmental ideas in a city, support and cooperation across departments is a key requirement. This can be realised by creating and implementing a Smart Advisory Group with dedicated members from all departments. By taking this approach, it is possible to define horizontal pathways and tackle projects in a non-bureaucratic way.

effectas, with its holistic Smart City approach, is the ideal partner for Smart Cities, villages and regions. effectas is a member of Urban Hive, a Smart City initiative for innovative businesses. In addition, effectas co-founded and works closely with the FTTH Council Europe Smart City Group, and continues to act as its chair.

Smart City Methodology

Breathing intelligence into cities

A core Smart City theme, alongside smarter use of resources, is placing new technological possibilities at the disposal of people, the city itself and local companies. Technological progress and current trends such as digitization are a reality. Their influence can be seen in all departments and disciplines within a city. Such influences can be harnessed and used as an opportunity for change, or you can remain sceptical and end up being controlled by external forces.

In general, Smart City topics are the same worldwide: ecology, mobility, integration and increasing efficiency in different fields. However, copying other cities’ approaches makes little sense. Smart Cities can’t be cloned, unless they spring up on a greenfield site.
The challenges of a Smart City are not technology-related. Most Smart City technologies are readily available. From this perspective, we could say all the technical ingredients of a Smart City are easily obtainable. However, when cooking a meal, the outcome depends on the composition of the ingredients. The same could be said of a Smart City. Depending on the objectives, different technological ingredients will be required.

Today, every city will find itself at a different point in its development. Each urban area has to overcome its own highly specific challenges. No city in Europe is totally ‘unsmart’, but a city which is really smart will, however, use a Smart City initiative to solve its current and future problems.

To support this, effectas offers well-established, tried and tested procedures. Moreover, effectas has built up a global network of partners and established relations with Smart City leaders and experts in various disciplines.

Moderation of the Smart City process

Collaboration across organizational silos

A successful Smart City initiative is supported by all city departments. Today, innovation mainly springs from a city’s individual organizational silos. In a Smart City , however, innovation and optimization may also take place across different departments. To achieve this, effectas moderates Smart City teams, applying the Smart City method. These teams usually consist of at least one city council member as well as representatives of all departments.

Technical Expertise

A vast pool of Smart City know-how at your disposal

effectas offers in-depth technical ICT knowledge as well implementation experience across various Smart City areas. To cover most disciplines in a city, effectas maintains an ecosystem, which consists of competencies from complementary companies and experts from different backgrounds and industries.

Typical roles of effectas:

– Strategy to implementation support

– Second opinion consultant and advisor to the board (especially in the Middle East)

Support for flagship projects

From concept to implementation

In addition to a long-term, steady and focused city development vision, it is important that short-term visible results can be achieved. effectas can identify exactly this type of project and either monitor or completely take care of implementation.

Ideas workshop

Generating new business cases with the Edison method

In order to develop service ideas and alternative solutions for existing services or challenges, effectas uses the Edison method. This approach, developed by German creative team ‘Die Ideologen’ combines various creative techniques. In our experience, this leads to really new approaches. The methodology also includes an efficient qualification process, so that business models and business cases can be developed on the basis of validated ideas.

Strategy consulting

The plan to achieve the vision

The Smart City development process extends from the overall vision to implementation of individual smart initiatives derived from this. The aim here is to identify a city’s specific challenges and define a roadmap. To uncover future challenges for the city in particular, effectas often works with scenario development. For this, the SAE method, developed by strategy specialists from the Strathclyde University Glasgow, is employed.

References

Smart City-related projects

Smart City_Smart City Methodik_Button 1

Smart City_Moderation Smart CIty Prozess_Button 2

Smart City_Technische Expertise_Button 3

Smart City_Begleitung Leuchtturmprojekte_Button 4

Smart City_Ideen Workshops_Button 5

Smart City_Strategie Beratung_Button 6

Smart City_Referenzen_Button 7


Eine Smart City ist sehr vielschichtig, deren Umsetzung eine breite Akzeptanz bei den Behörden und der Bevölkerung erfordert.

effectas hat einen holistischen Ansatz entwickelt, die organisatorischen Silos in den Städten aufzubrechen und dadurch sowohl Synergien wie auch Innovationspotentiale freizusetzen und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Departementen zu verbessern.

So können Städte Kosteneinsparungen realisieren und die Stadt durch innovative Services attraktiver gestalten.

Synergiegewinnung ist bei allen Städten ein Riesenthema. Durch die effectas-Methodik garantieren wir eine effiziente und fokussierte Analyse des Synergiepotentials anhand der Services, Prozesse und Systeme einer Stadt. Innovationspotentiale können durch die gezielte Einbindung von Anspruchsgruppen in den Innovationsprozess freigelegt werden. effectas wendet hierzu die systematische Ideenentwicklung nach der Edison-Methodik an. Mit diesem strukturierten Prozess lernen Sie die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Anspruchsgruppen besser kennen. So werden Produkt- und Serviceideen generiert, die Sie heute noch nicht kennen.

Um in einer Stadt innovative, bereichsübergreifende Ideen umzusetzen, bedarf es der Unterstützung und Zusammenarbeit über die Departemente hinweg. Das kann passieren durch die Konstituierung und Implementierung einer Smart Advisory Group mit engagierten Mitgliedern aus allen Departementen. So werden horizontale Nervenbahnen gelegt und Projekte können unbürokratisch angepackt werden.

effectas ist mit ihrem holistischen Smart City Ansatz der ideale Partner für smarte Städte, Dörfer oder Regionen. effectas ist Mitglied bei Urban Hive, einer Smart City Initiative innovativer Unternehmen. Zudem engagiert sich effectas beim FTTH-Council Europe, wo sie die Smart City Group mitbegründeten und dieser seither vorsitzen.

Smart City Methodik

Den Städten Intelligenz einhauchen

Nebst einer smarteren Nutzung der Ressourcen ist ein Kernthema von Smart City die neuen technologischen Möglichkeiten in den Dienst der Menschen, der Stadt und der dort angesiedelten Unternehmen zu stellen. Technologischer Fortschritt und Trends wie zur Zeit die Digitalisierung sind eine Realität. Deren Einflüsse durchpflügen alle Abteilungen und Disziplinen einer Stadt. Solchen Einflüssen kann man sich als Stadt stellen und die Veränderungen als Chancen nutzen, oder man steht dem ganzen skeptisch gegenüber und lässt sich von den äusseren Kräften treiben.

Im Allgemeinen sind die Themen einer Smart City weltweit dieselben. Es geht um Ökologie, Mobilität, Einbindung der Menschen und die Steigerung der Effizienz in verschiedenen Gebieten. Trotzdem macht es wenig Sinn, wenn sich Städte kopieren. Smart Cities lassen sich nicht klonen, ausser sie entstehen auf der grünen Wiese.

Die Herausforderungen einer Smart City liegen nicht im technologischen Bereich. Die meisten Technologien einer Smart City stehen bereits zur Verfügung. So gesehen sind die technischen Ingredienzen einer Smart City vorhanden. Beim Kochen eines Menüs ist das zubereitete Gericht abhängig von der Zusammensetzung der Zutaten. Genauso ist es auch bei einer Smart City. Je nachdem welche Ziele verfolgt werden, sind andere technologische Zutaten gefragt.

Jede Stadt steht in seiner Entwicklung an einem etwas anderen Punkt. Jede Stadt hat ihre eigenen spezifischen Herausforderungen zu meistern. Keine Stadt in Europa ist total unsmart. Eine Smart City die wirklich smart ist löst also mit einer Smart City Initiative die aktuellen und künftigen Probleme der Stadt.
effectas unterstützt dabei mit einer eingespielten und in der Praxis erprobten Vorgehensweise. Zudem verfügt effectas über ein weltweites Beziehungs- und Partnernetz zu Verantwortlichen von Smart Cities und zu Experten in verschiedenen Disziplinen.

Moderation Smart City Prozess

Zusammenarbeit über die organisatorischen Silos hinweg

Eine erfolgreiche Smart City Initiative wird durch alle Departemente einer Stadt gestützt. Heute entfaltet sich die Innovation meist nur innerhalb der einzelnen organisatorischen Silos einer Stadt. In einer smarten Stadt findet die Innovation und die Optimierung jedoch auch siloübergreifend statt. Um diesen Effekt erzielen zu können, moderiert effectas Smart City Teams und wendet dabei die Smart City Methode an. Die Smart City Teams bestehen meist aus mindestens einem Stadtrat und Vertreter aus allen Departementen der Stadt.

Technische Expertise

Ein grosser Pool an Smart City Know How steht zur Verfügung

effectas verfügt im Bereich ICT über fundierte technische Kenntnisse und Umsetzungserfahrung in verschiedenen Bereichen der Smart City. Um die meisten Disziplinen einer Stadt abdecken zu können pflegt effectas ein Ecosystem, welches aus sich in den Kompetenzen ergänzenden Unternehmen und Experten verschiedenster Herkunft und Branchen besteht.

Typische Rollen von effectas:

– Von der Strategie bis zur Umsetzungsbegleitung

– Als second opinion Consultant und advisor to the board (vor allem im mittleren Osten)

Begleitung von Leuchtturmprojekten

Von der Konzeption bis zur Umsetzung

Neben der langfristig ausgelegten, stetigen und an der Vision ausgerichteten Weiterentwicklung der Stadt, ist es wichtig, dass kurzfristig sichtbare Erfolge erzielt werden können. Solche Projekte kann effectas einerseits identifizieren und deren Umsetzung entweder begleiten oder komplett übernehmen.

Ideen Workshops

Mit der Edison Methode neue Businesscases generieren

Um Serviceideen aber auch alternative Lösungsansätze für bestehende Services oder Herausforderungen zu finden, wendet effectas die Edison Methode an. Die vom Deutschen Kreativteam „Die Ideologen“ entwickelte Vorgehensweise kombiniert verschiedene Kreativtechniken und führt erfahrungsgemäss zu wirklich neuen Lösungsansätzen. Die Methodik beinhaltet auch einen effizienten Qualifizierungsprozess, so dass auf der Basis von validierten Ideen Geschäftsmodelle und Businesscases erarbeitet werden können.

Strategie Beratung

Der Plan um die Vision zu erreichen

Der Prozess für die Ausarbeitung einer Smart City erstreckt sich von der übergreifenden Vision bis hin zur Implementierung einzelner davon abgeleiteter smarten Initiativen. Hier geht es darum die spezifischen Herausforderungen der Stadt zu erkennen und den Lösungsweg zu definieren. Insbesondere für das Erkennen der künftigen Herausforderungen der Stadt arbeitet effectas oft mit Szenarienbildung. Hierbei wendet effectas die SAE Methode an, welche von der auf Strategie spezialisierten Strathclyde University Glasgow entwickelt wurde.

Referenzen

Projekte im Bereich Smart City